Search site
Royal Court header image 1 Royal Court header image 2 Royal Court header image 3 Royal Court header image 4

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) is an organisation which works to support good governance, democracy and human rights. It was founded in 1911, with its first branches being Australia, Canada, Newfoundland, New Zealand, South Africa and the United Kingdom. In 1948 the association allowed all jurisdictions in the Commonwealth a part in the administration of the organisation. The branches are grouped into nine Commonwealth regions - Africa; Asia; Australia; British Islands and Mediterranean; Canada; Caribbean, Americas and Atlantic; India; Pacific, and South-East Asia.

The Guernsey Branch is one of over 175 branches of the Association. Its membership is made up of all Members of the States of Deliberation and the Clerks to the States Assembly. The CPA provides opportunities for Members of the States to liaise with fellow parliamentarians across the Commonwealth in a number of different forums, including seminars, conferences and parliamentary visits. It also acts as a point of contact in Guernsey for Commonwealth Members of Parliament visiting the Island.

The affairs of the local branch of the Association are managed by the CPA Executive Committee which is made up of six States Members assisted by a secretary. The Bailiff is the Honorary President of the Branch. CPA activities are recorded in a quarterly magazine called the Parliamentarian which is distributed to parliaments and legislatures across the Commonwealth.

For more information please see the CPA website.